Biomarkers Reflecting Inflammation and Nutrition Determinants of Anemia is a working group that has been formed as part of project initiated by the:

  • International Micronutrient Malnutrition Prevention and Control (IMMPaCt) Program, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC),
  • Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH),
  • Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN),
  • USAID-funded Strengthening Partnerships, Results, and Innovations in Nutrition Globally (SPRING) project,
  • International Zinc Consultative Group (IZiNCG), and
  • GroundWork
  • Emory University

BRINDA was originally formed in 2012 as a multi-agency and multi-country collaboration in an effort to improve micronutrient assessment and anemia characterization. BRINDA receives funding support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, CDC, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, HarvestPlus, and the United States Agency for International Development.

BRINDA Steering Committee


Chair:  Melissa Young (Emory)


Data Management Sr. Biostatistician Co-Chair:

Data Management Working Group:

BRINDA secretariat:

    • Emory University

We would also like to warmly thank the following BRINDA Working Group/Country Representatives: 

Yaw Addo, Tahmeed Ahmed, Moira Angel, Zulfi Bhutta, Reina Engle-Stone, Wilma Freire, Junjie Guo, Sanober Ismaily, Roland Kupka, Rebecca Lander, Leila Larson, Nino Lortkipanidze, Maria Jose Ramirez Luzuriaga, Pragya Mathema, Christine McDonald, Zuguo Mei, Purnima Menon, Sabiha Nasrin, Polly Page, Jan Peerson, Tamerlan Rajabov, Rahul Rawat, Pura Rayco-Solon, Fabian Rohner, Ofelia Saniel, Olga Lucia Sarmiento, Mary Serdula, Victor Temple, Andres Tschanne, Salvador Villapando, Frank Wieringa, Anne Williams, Emma Yu, Jiawei Meng, and Qingqi Ren